The Elements of Tarot

Fire, Water, Air, and Earth

The four suits of a tarot deck correspond to the four ancient elements. The associations are easy to remember, because they’re pictured right on the cards.

Take a tarot class at the Vintage Cottage. Click here for our calendar.

The fire signs of Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius are assigned to the fiery suit of Wands. The cards in this suit usually feature wooden clubs or branches that can be set ablaze and burned for light, heat, and inspiration.

The water signs of Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces belong to the watery suit of Cups. Cups hold water, the essence of life. We toast our joys and drown our sorrows.

The air signs of Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius correspond to the airy suit of Swords, which move quickly and decisively through the element of air.

The earth signs of Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn fit the earthy suit of Pentacles. Pentacles look like money—the coin of the earthly realm, and symbols of tangible property, material possessions, and physical existence.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *